Frequently Asked Questions: Family Law
How much will I have to pay in child support?
Texas law awards child support based on how many children are being supported and the income of the person obligated to pay child support.
The court will NOT consider the income of a step-parent or the income of the person to whom child support is being paid.
The following child support guidelines are based on the monthly net resources (income after taxes) of the person obligated to pay:
1 child - 20%
2 children - 25%
3 children - 30%
4 children - 35%
5 children - 40%
Of course, your specific situation may not fit the standard. Call today for a free consultation!
I’m unemployed, how much child support will I have to pay?
If you are unemployed, Texas law will base your child support obligation on minimum wage earnings at 40 hours per week.
Who has to pay for the child’s health insurance?
Typically, the individual paying child support is also required to pay for the child’s health insurance premiums.
What if my former spouse doesn’t follow the court order?
Failure to follow a court order can result in up to six months in jail and up to a $500 fine.
What are temporary orders?
Temporary orders are orders issued by the court which last until the divorce is final. Temporary orders can be issued at a hearing or by agreement of the parties and can cover many topics including: child support, visitation, financial issues, etc.
Contact Moore Law, PLLC by clicking here.
Information on this page is intended as a guideline only and is not to be taken as legal advice.